Philip José Farmer

Author details

Jan. 26, 1918
Feb. 25, 2009

External links

Philip José Farmer was an American author, principally known for his award-winning science fiction and fantasy novels and short stories.

Farmer is best known for his sequences of novel — especially the World of Tiers (1965–93) and Riverworld (1971–83) series. He is noted for the pioneering use of sexual and religious themes in his work, his fascination for — and reworking of — the lore of celebrated pulp heroes, and occasional tongue-in-cheek pseudonymous works written as if by fictional characters.

Philip José Farmer is also well known for remixing classic fictional characters, worlds, and both real and fake authors. This is epitomized with his Wold Newton family group of books that tie all classic fictional characters together as real people and blood relatives resulting from an alien conspiracy; his works such as The Other Log of Phileas Fogg and Doc Savage: His Apocalyptic Life make Farmer the ultimate grandfather of the modern literary mashup.

Books by Philip José Farmer